Signals

THE SIGNAL BOX

Railway signalling discussion

Can anyone help me with placing my signals please

For railway modellers to discuss and share ideas on realistic signalling arrangements.

Can anyone help me with placing my signals please

Unread postby lulfan » Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:08 pm

Good afternoon to all of you

It was suggested by a mod at District Dave forum I posted my question here

signals21.jpg

My model is BR LMR in the eary to mid 1960's

I wonder if anyone here can help me, placing semaphore signals on my layout ?

this is the BR part of my BR/ LU layout

I'm using the ratio kits but the signals won't move, they'll be static.

I'm no artist (as you'll see) but I've attached a drawing and each signal that I think I need has got a letter next to it

Starting at the top station, as well as through trains on each line, trains can reverse from either direction. A train can come into Platform 2 and reverse over the cross over, since it's a passenger move, I guess I need home signal C

Trains can also enter Platform 1, and then proceed empty pass the cross over, then reverse over the cross over and pick up passengers again from Platform 2 - so I'm guessing I need a shunt signal, next to home B

Then the main station is again a through station, the same reverse features as the top one, so I think I need a shunt signal as well as home E

Trains coming from the right can also take the left hand branch at home G, where they can obtain the loop line, avoiding the station. if it's a pick-up goods, it could uncouple from the trucks, the loco running wrong road through the station and then back onto the rear of the goods train which could then move forward into the head shunt and then shunt into either coal or goods shed sidings